9-0 Sealed Deck Lists

Posted in Event Coverage on August 27, 2017

By Tobi Henke

Five players escaped the first day's nine grueling rounds with a pristine record of 9-0: champion of Grand Prix Bilbao 2013 Mitchell Manders, Grand Prix Ghent quarterfinalist Elias Klocker, Game Day champion Cosmin Achim, Hall of Famer (8) Martin Jůza, and Francesco Fritto Hugony who so far only had Pro Tour Day 2 finishes and Grand Prix Top 16s to his name (pictured below, left to right).

Check out the decks these people used below! Most represented color combination? Black-red. Most represented rare? Well, wouldn't you know it, it really was Dreamstealer. I guess that fits.

Martin Jůza's Black-Red

Download Arena Decklist

As Jůza said, "Sideboarding is a big part of Limited." Case in point: When he lost a game against Alexey Shashov's God-Pharaoh's Gift and Cruel Reality in Round 9—who was piloting a deck with Rags // Riches and No Mercy too!—he replaced Hour of Devastation and Edifice of Authority with Defiant Khenra and Supernatural Stamina and ended up winning the match.

Mitchell Manders's Black-Red

Download Arena Decklist

Manders, meanwhile, didn't do a lot of sideboarding, saying, "Rarely changed a card. I was very short on playables."

Francesco Fritto Hugony's Four-Color Green

Download Arena Decklist

Any major sideboarding? Hugony: "No, almost never. The deck just always performed unexpectedly well as is."

Cosmin Achim's Jund

Download Arena Decklist

Achim stated that he had had a second deck in his sideboard, but only played three games in total with it. However, he probably couldn't have won one particular match without it, the story of which went as follows: "Lost first game to Hour of Promise ramp into Overwhelming Splendor, then switched to another deck with two counterspells, and won the next two games with it."

Elias Klocker's Black-Red

Download Arena Decklist

Latest Event Coverage Articles

December 4, 2021

Innistrad Championship Top 8 Decklists by, Adam Styborski

The Innistrad Championship has its Top 8 players! Congratulations to Christian Hauck, Toru Saito, Yuuki Ichikawa, Zachary Kiihne, Simon Görtzen, Yuta Takahashi, Riku Kumagai, and Yo Akaik...

Learn More

November 29, 2021

Historic at the Innistrad Championship by, Mani Davoudi

Throughout the last competitive season, we watched as Standard and Historic took the spotlight, being featured throughout the League Weekends and Championships. The formats evolved with e...

Learn More



Event Coverage Archive

Consult the archives for more articles!

See All