Previously, at Grand Prix Singapore...

Posted in GRAND PRIX SINGAPORE 2015 on June 27, 2015

By Ray “blisterguy” Walkinshaw

This isn't the first time the Grand Prix train has stopped at Singapore station. It's not even the second time. It's also not the third time, or the fourth... ok, ok, I'll spare you the pain of where I was going with that and skip straight to this being the ninth time there's been a Magic Grand Prix in Singapore. I'm almost out of fingers here!

The first Grand Prix Singapore was held in December 2000 and was won by Sam Lau. In September 2001 Albertus Law won, and in March 2013 Mikael Polgary took the trophy home to Sweden. In 2005, player attendance surpassed 300 for the first time, and Japan’s Itaru Ishida took home the title. Hall of Famer Raphaël Lévy triumphed in 2007, while Tomoharu Saito took it down in 2009.

In 2011, attendance almost doubled to 621 players, and Paulo Vitor Damo da Rosa came out on top, helping solidify his spot in the Hall of Fame with his trusty Caw-Blade deck.

Previous Grand Prix Singapore winners: Tomoharu Saito, Paulo Vitor Damo da Rosa, and Ken Yukuhiro.

In the most recent Grand Prix Singapore in 2013, which boasted 891 players, Magic coverage powerhouse Chapman Sim drafted all the way to the finals before falling to Japan's Ken Yukuhiro, the first of four Grand Prix top 8's Yukuhiro would add to his resume that year.

Attendance has jumped again in 2015, now hitting four figures with 1,108 players all hoping to be the last one standing tomorrow afternoon. Who will it be, and what Modern Masterpiece will they be playing? That's what we're going to find out!