Posted in PRO TOUR KHANS OF TARKIR - COVERAGE - EVENTS on October 12, 2014

By Corbin Hosler

King of the Hill made its debut at Pro Tour Born of the Gods in Valencia last year, to a warm welcome. The concept, which has been applied to the feature match area at every Pro Tour since, allows the winner of the last King of the Hill Match to stay in the feature match area until he or she loses, regardless of how many matches—or, in theory, Pro Tours—that may be.

Make it; Take it, if you will.

The beauty is in the simplicity, as well as its objectivity. Anyone, no matter their past accomplishments or number of Pro Points, can be the King of the Hill—as long as they keep winning. And one thing is guaranteed: The King of the Hill chair will always lead to the Top 8.

Dezani was the inaugural King of the Hill at Pro Tour Born of the Gods, but by the end of that weekend the king became eight-ranked Shaun McLaren. Since then, the title passed to No. 17 Patrick Chapin at Pro Tour Journey into Nyx and then fifth-ranked Ivan Floch at Pro Tour Magic 2015.

That brought Floch back to Pro Tour Khans of Tarkir as the reigning king, and he opened the tournament at the King of the Hill table.

Floch started off the weekend as the King of the Hill, courtesy of his win at Pro Tour Magic 2015.

Floch won all three of his draft rounds, but fell in in the first round of Standard to Park Jun Young, kicking off a free-for-all for the crown. Park held it for two rounds before passing the crown to Toni Portolan in Round 6. Portolan, in turn, lost it to 11th-ranked Yuuya Watanabe in Round 8, finishing as only one of two players to stay undefeated on Day One.

Watanabe didn't last long either, falling to Mike Sigrist the very next round, only for Sigrist to pass it on to Ondrej Strosky in Round 11.

Here's where things got a little wonky. Watanabe came back to snatch the crown again in Round 12, only to, once again, lose it the very next round, this time to Spencer Garnier. Only, Watanabe wasn't done.

After Garnier, Mike Sigrist continued the Day Two merry-go-round, grabbing back the title in Round 14. Sigrist turned out to be the only player to hold the crown for multiple consecutive rounds on Day Two when he held it for two rounds earlier in the day, but, once more, the King fell after just one round. This time No. 2 Owen Turtenwald grabbed the title in the 15th round in what he first thought was a win-and-in.

Unfortunately for Turtenwald, the man who would be King, he was paired down against none other than crown stealer extraordinaire Yuuya Watanabe. Watanabe dispatched Turtenwald and, in the process, secured a spot in the Top 8.

And with that, Yuuya Watanabe, who held the King of the Hill title three seperate times only to lose it the very next round, heads into the Top 8 as the King of the Hill.

Through two days of competition, Yuuya Watanabe is your King of the Hill!