General Information

24 of the world's top Magic: The Gathering players will play at Wizards of the Coast from May 17-19, 2019 for the Magic Online Championship.

The event will feature War of the Spark Booster Draft, Standard Constructed and Modern Constructed, and has a total prize pool of $200,000. First place wins $40,000 and the title of Magic Online Champion.

Hashtag: #MTGOChamp

Live Streaming Video

Follow live streaming video coverage of the Magic Online Championship on twitch.tv/magic! Here are the start times for each day:

  • Friday: 10 a.m. PT/1 p.m. ET/5 p.m. UTC
  • Saturday: 8 a.m. PT/11 a.m. ET/3 p.m. UTC
  • Sunday: 10 a.m. PT/1 p.m. ET/5 p.m. UTC

Note that the Magic Online Championship will take a mid-day break from 12-4 p.m. PT on Saturday during the live MPL Weekly stream. The tournament will resume immediately after the end of the MPL Weekly stream.

Competitors

The following players will be competing in this event:

  • Dmitriy Butakov
  • Márcio Carvalho
  • Ryuji Murae
  • Kenji Tsumura
  • Bernardo Santos
  • Ted Felicetti
  • Jamin Kauf
  • Derek Pite
  • Mattia Oneto
  • Kenji Egashira
  • Jan-Moritz Merkel
  • Alexandre Habert
  • Autumn Burchett
  • Matthew Bond
  • Brandon Pascal
  • Tuan Nguyen
  • Logan Nettles
  • Antonio del Moral Leon
  • Jose Cabezas
  • João Andrade
  • Andrew Baeckstrom
  • Pascal Maynard
  • Bernardo Torres
  • Kurtis Droge

Tournament Information

Day One will consist of 3 Rounds of War of the Spark Booster Draft and 4 Rounds of Standard Constructed.

Day Two will consist of 3 Rounds of War of the Spark Booster Draft and 4 Rounds of Modern Constructed.

During the Swiss rounds, the Magic Online die roll will determine which player chooses whether or not to take the first turn of the first game of each match.

During the Swiss rounds, each player will have 40 minutes of priority clock for a best-of-three-game match (80 minutes for both players combined). Three minutes of sideboarding between games will not count toward this total. Slow play will be enforced as needed, and a player who runs out of priority time loses the match, regardless of the game score or state of the current game.

The top 4 competitors after Round 14 will be advanced to the single-elimination playoffs on Sunday. The top 4 matches will be played as best of 3 matches with the first match being Standard Constructed, the second match being Modern Constructed and if a third match is needed the higher seeded player will choose one of the two.

In the event of a technical or administrative issue, Wizards of the Coast reserves the right to make alterations to the tournament as, in its sole discretion, it deems necessary to preserve event integrity.

Prize Structure

Place Prize Money
1 $40,000
2 $20,000
3-4 $10,000
5-8 $8,000
9-16 $6,000
17-24 $5,000

We use cookies on this site to personalize content and ads, provide social media features and analyze web traffic. By clicking YES, you are consenting for us to set cookies. (Learn more about cookies)

No, I want to find out more