Skip to main content


What is Pioneer?

Pioneer—a new nonrotating format featuring cards from Return to Ravnica and forward 

Pioneer is a constructed format and therefore adheres to the following constructed rules:

  • Minimum of sixty cards
  • No maximum deck size, as long as you can shuffle your deck unassisted
  • Up to fifteen cards in your sideboard, if used

With the exception of basic lands (Plains, Island, Swamp, Mountain, Forest, and Wastes), your combined deck and sideboard may not contain more than four of any individual card, counted by its English card title equivalent.

All Standard releases from Return to Ravnica forward are legal

The following card sets are permitted in Pioneer


Pioneer Banned Cards

The following cards are banned:

  • Balustrade Spy
  • Bloodstained Mire
  • Felidar Guardian
  • Field of the Dead
  • Flooded Strand
  • Inverter of Truth
  • Kethis, the Hidden Hand
  • Leyline of Abundance
  • Nexus of Fate
  • Oko, Thief of Crowns
  • Once Upon a Time
  • Polluted Delta
  • Smuggler’s Copter
  • Teferi, Time Raveler
  • Undercity Informer
  • Underworld Breach
  • Uro, Titan of Nature's Wrath
  • Veil of Summer
  • Walking Ballista
  • Wilderness Reclamation
  • Windswept Heath
  • Wooded Foothills
We use necessary cookies to allow our site to function correctly and collect anonymous session data. Necessary cookies can be opted out through your browser settings. We also use optional cookies to personalize content and ads, provide social medial features and analyze web traffic. By clicking “OK, I agree,” you consent to optional cookies. (Learn more about cookies)